Gigantopithecus was just too big.

Gigantopithecus at WorkI read about a species of giant ape on the I Fucking Love Science Facebook page today called Gigantopithecus blacki. An adult male would have been about 10ft (3m) tall! Although I wish they weren’t extinct, as I’d love to meet one, I think it’s probably for the best. As you can see from my artist’s impression of Gigantopithecus blacki above, the world just isn’t designed for tall people like them and me.

At 6’4″ (1m 93cm) tall I’m of a relatively modest height compared to these guys and even I find it difficult at times. Fitting through doorways, sitting on trains and at desks, trying to find long enough trousers, shirts, jackets. I could go on…

…Jumpers.

That’s not to say that I don’t like being tall. Just today I used my skills to help decorate the highest reaches of the office Christmas tree and just yesterday I successfully changed a light bulb sans ladder. It wasn’t broken, I just did it because I can. Just the day before that I pulled a child from the first floor (second floor if you’re American or Japanese) of a burning house. I could go on…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gigantopithecus was just too big.

  1. Pingback: Ikea Monkey | Ichi Nichi Drawings

Leave a Reply

